Hello from Chicago, need help with molly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

susanb

Aquarium Advice Newbie
New to AA.com - was looking for any help with a creamsicle molly that we purchased a week ago at Petco. There have been about three times this week that I thought it was dead (lying on side, no movement) and then when I try to scoop it out - it is alive and kicking! Does swim to the surface to eat some, but while it is a really pretty fish, it doesn't look good. The Cory and Red Tail Platy are doing fine in the small tank (2.5 gallon). Any thoughts???

Pretty small tank there.

Have you check the water chemistry?

Also does the fish seem to swim drunkenly? Sort of up and down or on it's side? That would be a sign of a swim bladder infection.

Platies are a hardy species, I have no experience with Cory, or know how hardy/delicate they are.

When you have water quality issues the weakest fish is usually the one showing the first symptoms (sort of like why the flu is worse for kids and the elderly).

Thanks - I am not sure how to check the water quality. We took a sample to Petco when we got the molly and they said our water was fine. As far as its movements, when the fish is active it swims ok. When it is not active then it tends to go on its side. Would water temp have anything to do with it??

i doubt water temp would be the culprit, unless it swings alot... mollies can adapt to alot of water conditions... they are actually a pretty tough fish. They can live in cold water, warm water, fresh water, brackish water, and salt water... I would lean more towards ammonia... You need a test kit to test your water every week or two...