Hello from Hong Kong!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joeychizzle

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey, what's up guys. I'm glad to be a part of this sweet forum. I've always had a love for aquariums but only recently decided to engage in this wonderful hobby.

I spent ages deciding on whether I wanted a saltwater or freshwater aquarium, but eventually decided on freshwater, since I'm a complete beginner and saltwater seems like much higher maintenance.

I was looking around the local pet fish markets, which are a famous tourist attraction (Google it guys, there's like a whole block dedicated to marine pets of all types.), bit the bullet and decided on a 10 gallon tank, but then for some reason I got a 4.6 US gallon tank.

It's been cycling for 9 days, with some sort of pinky nail sized white gravel substrate and those hollow cylindrical stones which apparently aid in bacteria production. I've got a 2.5 inch wide marimo moss ball, a little pad of dwarf baby tears sitting inside a hollowed out crab shell, some random pale cone shaped shell with spotted lines, a half submerged 2 inch wide tuft of dwarf hairgrass chilling in a isolation box until I figure out how to tie it down and stop it from floating, some pebbles I borrowed from a friend's established tank, some floating plants that have roughly 3 inch roots and grow stupidly fast, and a pretty standard water pump. I keep forgetting to buy the test kids for ph, ammonia, nitrite and nitrates. I can't/won't post a pic because my tankscaping skills are basically non-existent. I don't think a co2 pump is needed yet - the existing levels of CO2 ppm appear to be enough.