Hello, I'm a noob looking for advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dwane

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I am new to this site and to the hobby all together. I am picking up a Fluval Vicenza 180 Bowfront Aquarium Sytem this weekend and am very excited to get started. This site seems wonderful so far and is packed full of information. I now understand that I can't just put fish right into my tank and will be patient and try to work my way through cycling my tank which I am going to read up more on now.

I would like to do a fishless cycle if possible. I am wondering if anyone can honestly tell me how hard it is to set up and maintain a planted tank and if the setup I am buying will support a planted tank, it does have two bulbs in it now, whatever comes stock. Is a planted tank expensive to set up and is there any extra maintenance costs?
Also if this is something a noob can handle is it something that I can do while the tank is cycling? I am wondering about this because it would give me something to do and watch the plants grow while I wait if so.

One more question I have is about the canister filter that comes with the Fluval Vicenza setup, the tank is plumbed so that the canister filter can be hooked up through the bottom and remain hidden under the tank, are there any advantages or disadvantages to hooking it up that way? The other issue with that is that it apparently is missing the parts to hook the filter into the bottom of the tank and I am wondering if anyone can direct me to a site where I can find the parts or tell me what I would be looking for? I am in Canada.

I really appreciate any help I get from you and am glad to be part of this community.

Regards,

Dwane :lol:

:welcome: to AA! :)
Hello,