Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-30-2014, 09:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Hello my name is Becky and I'm new.

I Think it's fair to say I'm new to proper fish keeping. Lol! I've had this built in 55 gallon for about 10 years. It's housed unsuccessful tropicals , ( back then i didn't know they needed a heater amongst many other mistakes) robo hamsters. I even rescued a very large gold fish from a foreclosed house down the street. The people just left it behind to die. I had no money at the time so I took large landscape rocks from my yard and purchased a filter. I had that fish for 6 years! I have a neighbor who is a hobby fish keeper and gave me more beautiful gold fish to add. I did filter changes once a month but failed to do proper water changes and when pets mart discontinued my filter and filter pads I didn't change the filter in time. I lost all of them all in one day! now I have an empty 55 gal wall tank and only a dream. I have done so much research and have become a bit obsessed with doing it right this time! My lack of funds has made me take my time. I'm not jumping into this and little by little This tank will be better than it ever was! I look forward to getting your advice and getting to know all of you!Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1412125157.897538.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	224.6 KB
ID:	251429

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Old 09-30-2014, 10:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Gorgeous tank and welcome!

Emerald76

Old 09-30-2014, 11:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Thanks! I'm going planted tropical. I've been buying a little here a little there. I have to start all over. I'm going with a canister system this time.

Old 10-02-2014, 02:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular