Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-25-2012, 12:32 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 301
Redsea - Thank you for the post! I am going to check out your Reef Build right now. I plan to update with pictures as soon as I get my tank somewhat decorated and fully cycled. Hope everything works out as it should. Wish me luck!
__________________

__________________
scottb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 12:32 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
There are formulas to calculate how much ammonia to add. You don't need to wait for your test kit.
__________________

__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 12:49 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 301
can you send me a link for these formulas? Thanks.
__________________
scottb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 12:54 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Try googling. Even if you can't find any you can just add 2-3 drops of ammonia to help kick start the process.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 01:01 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
There's a calculator on this page. http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/article...ng-article.htm
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 01:25 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 301
Thank you Mumma and Hholly for the advice/help. Can't wait to get my fishless cycle started!
__________________
scottb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 01:43 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Have fun and good luck!
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 05:49 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 301
UPDATE:
Went and purchased ammonia from Ace and included a few drops into my tank to get the cycle going. My driftwood is yet to be placed into the tank because it is still soaking in water. I do have a question regarding my filters. Are there any downfalls to having 2 filters on my 36 gallon tank? Is there such a thing as OVER filtration? Also, when you do water changes, do you use 2 separate buckets? One for the dirty water, and one for the new dechlorinated water? And what is the best way to heat up the new water before adding it into my tank? Should I just take out my heater from my tank and use that, leaving my tank without a heater temporarily?

Thanks for all your help!
__________________
scottb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 06:02 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottb
UPDATE:
Went and purchased ammonia from Ace and included a few drops into my tank to get the cycle going. My driftwood is yet to be placed into the tank because it is still soaking in water. I do have a question regarding my filters. Are there any downfalls to having 2 filters on my 36 gallon tank? Is there such a thing as OVER filtration? Also, when you do water changes, do you use 2 separate buckets? One for the dirty water, and one for the new dechlorinated water?

Thanks for all your help!
No such thing as too much filtration but there is too much flow. As long as your fish handle the flow (don't struggle to swim) its fine. No need to use different buckets. I still lift buckets for my smaller tanks this I what I do.
Syphon water into bucket/s.
Poor into garden.
Refill buckets with temperature matched water.
Add dechlorinator.
Poor in tank.
It might be worth your while looking at a water changer like a python. Makes it a lot easier and quicker. I use a garden hose on my large tanks.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 06:14 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 301
Mumma - Have you ever had your new water not match the temperature of your tank? What do you do if this happens, because I know adding water that is too cold to a tank can cause fish to become stressed. Also, do you just pour your water in? I fear that my gravel/plants may move if I just pour in the new water from my bucket.

I assume I can just put my heater into my new water before I begin my gravel cleaning, and by the time I'm done siphoning my tank, the new water should be near the right temp.
__________________

__________________
scottb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beginner planted tank, cycling a fish tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supporting Member Dylan5359 Forum Admin & Announcements 0 06-30-2011 01:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.