Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-23-2012, 11:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Hello, New member here

Hello everyone excited to be a member...I have a 55 gallon saltwater tank I am just getting started put my live rock in last night to start my cycle. I had a saltwater tank many, many years ago but forgot a lot of what I had to do. Will appreciate any help you all can give me.

Old 03-26-2012, 05:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Hey there night eyes!! Welcome to the forum. You will recieve tons of great informative help here. Make sure that your tank completes a full cycle before you add any fishies to it!

Old 03-26-2012, 10:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Thanks Shark Bait and I am doing just that. The only thing that I was questioning about that is the live rock I purchased is completely cured they say I have been checking my ammonia everyday and it has been 2.0 not getting any higher, so I am wondering if it goes to 0 and holds out there for 3 days do you think it's safe to say it's cycled?
Old 03-26-2012, 10:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

No Ma'am, I made that same assumption with my first SW and lost a few fish. A true cycle normally takes 3 weeks to complete. With live and cured rock, your tank may try to "trick you" into thinking it's cycled. Then randomly you might get a spike in ammonia and fish will suffer. To be safe i'd wait till you hit at least the 2 1/2 week mark (Long time I know :/) to be completely sure your water is safe
Old 03-26-2012, 10:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular