Hello there!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Noxidgiarc

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to all this tropical fish keeping, but I'm getting used to it I think learning about ammonia and nitrite and nitrate etc, I've currently got a 64 litre tank and added the first lot of fish today I have 3 platys and 3 guppys my LFS has advised these as hardy fish and told me to take a water sample in a few days and possibly add a few more fish to the cycle does this sound like good advice or not?

Fish are friends not food!

Honestly, I wouldn't rely on what they say about stocking or the quality of your water. Not discounting the knowledge of your LFS, but putting more fish in there may or may not be a good thing depending on how long your tank has been running.

Its been running for 4 days now. The fish have gone in 2day what are your thoughts on amounts of fish to cycle my tank then at the moment I have 6 in a 64 litre tank

If you just set that up, then NO! You really need to cycle that tank first, either return those fish and do a fishless cycle, however if you do keep the fish then you'll have to do daily testing and pwcs! Eco knows a lot about this and will hopefully comment soon. Also welcome to A.A. :welcome:

Aha I knew Eco would arrive when cycling help was needed! And defiantly listen to him when it comes to cycling he is probably the most knowledgeable person on cycling here.

AquaKai said:
Aha I knew Eco would arrive when cycling help was needed! And defiantly listen to him when it comes to cycling he is probably the most knowledgeable person on cycling here.

Eco is always hiding in the shadows, lol.