Hello to all from a hobyist from India...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ragunnaath

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello All!

I'm from India and I'm a IT Manager by profession, married wth two kids.

I'm relatively a newbie to the aquarium hobby.

I started off with a 4G bowl that used to be home to 3 gold fishes about 4 months ago. I had bought the gold fishes for my 3 yr old son thinking that he would enjoy watching them swim around in the bowl. But little did I know fish keeping would get this, and in no time, I upgraded the 4G bowl to a 110G / 5 feet aquarium.

The tank is an imported acrylic is now home to some Cichlids. I have about 50 kgs of coarse white gravel as the substrate and about 20 kgs of slate rock, apart from some plastic plats and decorations.

The tank runs with the OEM 2600L/h powerhead and an external top filter. Aside to this, I have a Dolphin C-1600 External Canister capable of 1200L/h.

Lighting in the tank is standard 2 x 40W T8 lamps.

Tank inhabitants are Golden Severum (2), Spotted Scat (2), Silver Dollar (2), Firemouths (2), Albino Shark (2), Orange Morph (2), Frontosa (1), Silver Moony (2), Tiger Barb (3), Peacock Eel (2), Spotted Gar (1)

Water changes are at 20% weekly (though I dont see a need as the filters are doing a great job at keeping the water crystal clear).

I have been reading a lot on Freshwater and Marine aquariums ever since I bought my first bowl. My interests in this hobby are only growing day by day.

My dream is to be a successfull Reef Aquarist, and I'm already in the process of converting my exisiting tank to a SW setup. I wouldn't want to part with my fishes, but I'm strictly confined on space in my apartment and just cannot accomodate a second tank for this purpose.

I'm in the process of getting a 30G sump ready for the project which will house the Skimmer and the Refugium.