Help needed on high ammonia!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Newlyobsessed

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello! I'm new to keeping an aquarium. I rescued a goldfish from the fair. I didn't do research and bought a 7.5 gallon tank with filter. Filled it with purified water and put the fish in it. Now that I e done research I realize it really needs to be bigger and I should have cycled the tank ��. Either way the fish is now in there. I bought a stone to provide oxygen and did research on food and bought water test kit. I can't get the ammonia under control!! I've done 3 25% water changes and added ammolock once. What do I do? I really want to be good to this fish but my husband won't let me buy a bigger tank��

Please help!
Thank you

Last edited:
defiantly going to need a larger tank as they wont stay small long
the smallest would probably be a 40b
as for the ammonia issue large water change gold fish are big ammonia factory's
so very frequently .
you could also consider a small pond in your garden outside
welcome to AA

you can go a little smaller I for some reason thought it said 3 than I saw it was water changes 20g would prob work

In a tank that small you are going to be doing a lot of water changes.

Don't feel like you have to limit yourself to 25% changes. A 25% change only removes 25% of the ammonia.

You are probably going to be looking at 75% or larger water changes.