Help - Goldfish found!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

laurawoodiwiss

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I have no experience whatsoever in anything aquatic-related. My husband was just in the garden and found 2 small goldfish in our pond :confused: - one black and one orange. We did not put them there and have no idea how they got there or how long they've been there! I am concerned for them though and want to know what we need to do to care for them?

Any advice appreciated please.

Thanks ;),

Laura Woodiwiss

Welcome to AA!

Some details about your pond? how big is it? Where do you live and what's the weather/temperature like there?

Easy answer is to just get some goldfish food for them to start out with.

Welcome to AA!

Some details about your pond? how big is it? Where do you live and what's the weather/temperature like there?

Easy answer is to just get some goldfish food for them to start out with.

It's a small nature pond (approx 3 x 5ft), containing some duck weed and something like water-Iris (?). I live in Leicestershire, England, so quite cold at the mo!! Only a couple of weeks ago the whole pond froze over. The poor things are still swimming about at the mo but wondering how they're surviving as we haven't fed them.

It sounds like someone was trying to get rid of them... or a neighborhood kid thought they'd be happier in a bigger house

If the water is below 50 degrees (which it must be if the water is freezing over), their metabolism has slowed down so much that they are not eating anyway. So do not even try to feed them. It's better that they not have food in their stomachs at this point.