Hey all

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yenner

Aquarium Advice Activist
Just typed this whole thing and lost it. Suck. Here we go again. :)

Hey everyone. I'm new to the aquarium "game". Had a buddy get a goldfish and my wife informed me that her parents had an aquarium they were no longer using. I decided to look into it. I've always wanted one and aside from a fishbowl with just rocks in the bottom and later on a 1 gallon "starter kit", both of which I thought were fine when I was younger, I've never owned fish.

So we got the tank. I'll give a run down of everything. I redid the tank last night and am going with an OSU them since I'm a HUGE Buckeyes fan (save the snide comments/hatred please :)). I know most people prefer a good, clean, natural looking habitat but it was just too mundande/done for me.

For the natural look (not necessarily for FW fish) we started with white/light gray gravel and a little plastic plant along with a BUNCH of shells we have collected from various beaches over the years. We had some large puka and conk shells, some medium to small clam shells and other sorts, some kind of larger natural sponge looking rocks, etc. We lined the bottom and it just looked too busy for me and too bland.

So here's what I ended up with.

Aquarium:
- 20g regular with black trim (free)
- Air line (free)
- Over the side filter (free)
- 15" air wand
- Full hood w/ light

Substrate/Decor:
- 5 pounds gray gravel, 10 pounds red (or 'scarlet' as I like to call it) gravel. Will get 5 more pounds soon.
- 1 small, 2 medium, 1 large various plastic plants.
- 1 large conk shell
- 1 large mason jar with an air bubble, Ohio State golf balls, and some gravel. :confused:

Fish and such:
- 2 common gold fish, Bill & Ted (yes they're on an excellent adventure.:))