Hi all!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

STANNY

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been registered here a while and read loads and loads, so thought it was time to post a bit about me and my first/new tank.
Im Damien, im a self employed Electrician from Leeds, UK. I've always had a bit an interest in fish, sea life and the like, and have wanted an aquarium for years. Apart from owning goldfish as a child after winning one at a fair, I have never had the time, money or space for one.
A couple of months ago while shopping for things for my house with my partner we stumbled across a local aquarist in a garden centre. While there admiring the fish we managed to talk ourselves into finally buying a tank. So I ordered the Juwel Rio 125, and picked it up a week later. During that week waiting, I read and read and read loads loads more. About loads of fish, advice on choosing fish, on tank maintenance and of course on cycling. Despite the aquarist telling me I could add fish a week later I went with the fishless cycling route, following the cycling with shrimp guide. Within 3 weeks my tank was cycled.
I went to a different lfs to buy my first fish. 10 Neon Tetra and 4 Black Tetra, starting cheap and easy. They appear to be very happy and i love watching them.