hi all new here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nubreefer24

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi all im new here. looking forward to learning a lot from all of you who share the same interest as i do. ive only been in the reef hobby for about 6-7 months or so. im still a novice by far and have plenty to learn im sure. i always ask questions and try to learn as much as i can about this. as you all will see in the future im sure. currently im running a 29 reef tank that is 6 months young, that has had plenty of issues for a newbie like my self. but im gettin the hang of it and its doing fairly decent now i believe. currently like i said its a 29 gallon long, with only 1 fish (for now) that is a dwarf hawkfish (falco), with a few small frags of zoas, star polyps, and 1 mushroom polyp that is growing very well. tank has about 35 pounds or so of jakarta live rock, about 4 turbo snails, 2 astrea snails, 6 sand sifting snails, 1 sand sifting start (about 4 inches long), about 6 blue leg hermits, 2 red leg hermits. adding more corals within the next 2-3 months, and after that will be adding a couple more fish, not sure of species as of yet. still deciding. as far as equipment im runing T5 HO dual bulb, 1 marine glow, 1 power glow bulb, 1 hydora 2 power head, 1 rio+50, 1 rio+90, filter im using a fluval 305 canister filter cleaned weekly, with filter pads, bio media, and activated carbon, 1 sea clone protein skimmer rated at 100 gallons, and as far as live sand bottom im using 15 pounds carib live sand, and 15 pounds carib crushed argonite on the bottom with sand on top. upgrading lighting soon to 2 t5 HO light fixtures. adding a refugium soon with a 10 gallon tank i have laying down. still trying to plan the build of it though. got 3 baffles in it already with 1 1/2 in spacing. going to be ording a cpr 50 overflow box and still trying to figure out whic