Hi Everyone! Would like to add snail killing fish to my tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ramilgtangco

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm new to aquascaping and would like to add fish to my tank, 16 neon tetra, 6 shrimps atm, would like to add something that would kill snails. I have a 25 Gal planted tank I added the link to my profile if you're interested in seeing it. Thanks in advance!

Hi there, I'm a noob myself, I dont know of any fish that eat snails, but I was asking about snails at a fish store the other day (I plan on having a planted tank and wanted to know how to deal with them before I start since I've seen so many planted tanks overrun.)
It sounds like there's two main options. You can buy assassin snails which are carnivorous and will devour the unwanted snails, or you can take iceberg lettuce leaves, run them under hot water to bruise them a bit and float them on top of your water after turning out the lights. The snails are attracted to the dying leaf and will collect in large numbers on it. Then in the morning you simply remove the lettuce before turning on the lights. Do that for a couple days and supposedly most of your snails will be gone.
I've never tried either option since I don't have my tank set up yet, but have heard both work.

Hope that helps!

You can buy assassin snails which are carnivorous and will devour the unwanted snails, or you can take iceberg lettuce leaves, run them under hot water to bruise them a bit and float them on top of your water after turning out the lights. The snails are attracted to the dying leaf and will collect in large numbers on it. Then in the morning you simply remove the lettuce before turning on the lights.