Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2011, 08:52 AM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3
Hi and welcome!
__________________

__________________
nasort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 12:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
arcticfirefighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 68
Welcome!!

Welcome to AA!
Do you use a gravel vac when you do water changes? If not I would, you could always use fertilizer tabs for your plants when you get them. I would not "neglect" (for a lack of a better word), your gravel for plants. Now I am not a live plant expert as all mine in my tank now are "fake" My step son has a few live Java Ferns that are doing great now and we clean 25% of the gravel with a vac every water change. You just have to be careful around them. But the rest of your parameters look good.
__________________

__________________
arcticfirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 05:16 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
londonlad_777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: take a guess :-P
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcticfirefighter
Welcome to AA!
Do you use a gravel vac when you do water changes? If not I would, you could always use fertilizer tabs for your plants when you get them. I would not "neglect" (for a lack of a better word), your gravel for plants. Now I am not a live plant expert as all mine in my tank now are "fake" My step son has a few live Java Ferns that are doing great now and we clean 25% of the gravel with a vac every water change. You just have to be careful around them. But the rest of your parameters look good.
Well i did buy a gravel cleaner for 23 but it was rubbish and really didn't work at all, so i took it back to shop and he refunded me after trying it himself and agreeing with me. If any 1 can advice me on which one to look out for or link me to one on ebay i will buy it. Thanks for your reply
__________________
londonlad_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 05:19 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
to AA!
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 08:19 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
arcticfirefighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 68
Gravel Vac

Here is a link to the one we use, works like a champ in a 10 and 29 Gallon tank.

www.ebay.com/itm/Aqueon-Gravel-Vacuum-Various-Sizes-All-Brand-New-Package-/220911195918?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item336f55 570e
__________________
arcticfirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 08:45 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
londonlad_777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: take a guess :-P
Posts: 14
Ok thanks, the one i had was battery operated, maybe why it wasn't any good. I think id prefer a battery one if any1 knows of a good one.
__________________
londonlad_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 09:09 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
arcticfirefighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 68
I have had 2 battery operated ones and they were horrible . I did a bunch of research on "good" ones and could not find any that had good reviews. Most people have the same issues. The problem is that when you are cleaning the gravel it dumps the water right back into the tank unless you have the extra hose attachment. The filters are either to big and let material right back into your tank or the motors give out with a few weeks/months. The last one I ordered on the internet I used twice and the motor went out. I did not have the hose attachment and within 30 seconds of starting I could not even see what I was doing it the tank it was so cloudy. If you do decide to go with the battery one I would make sure you do some research before you spend the money. Let us know if you find one that really works well.
__________________
arcticfirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:55 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
londonlad_777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: take a guess :-P
Posts: 14
I know my dad had one which worked well, but i know rust set into it in the end, will have to ask him which make it was and how long he had it for.
__________________

__________________
londonlad_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 09:41 AM
A Story: First Fish in Tank Died Likely Sick When Purchased LarryS Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 22 11-27-2011 11:32 PM
17 dead fish 3 seprut tanks all started from fish bought fron the same shop Shaymarie Aquaria Off-Topic 38 09-26-2011 07:15 PM
Sick Clown Fish - Advice Pls AnnieT Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 09-26-2011 09:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.