Hi from Vic, Australia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Guindoza

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Well I'm brand new to fishkeeping and have made quite a few mistakes. I bought a fishtank from kmart that cracked and went all over the floor. I was halfway thru cycling it, I'd started the cycle fishless, but my fish were in a bowl and I talked to a lady at the petstore who said it was ok to put my fish in just do 50% water changes weekly and bring in water for testing. So now I have a bull nose aquarium with foam underneath so it doesnt crack. Its on my kitchen bench so its well supported. And my fish are currently in the bowl where I had to put them until I bought the new aquarium.

Anyways, I have a few questions.

About a quarter of the water in the new aquarium is from the old one, and the filter is old filter. The filter is a submersible, and what I wanted to know was is it still ok to use when it ran above the water level after my tank cracked? Cos I didn't no it had cracked until I checked on my fish. It seems to be working fine.

I am going to have to put my fish in the new aquarium, the bowl just isn't nice, and to me they're better off in the aquarium, which hopefully is at the same cycling level as the old. I know that it will be rough for them but I have little choice.

Also a corner cover on the outside of the aquarium has come off, what should I use to glue it back on?

PS. I'm not here to be lectured about the size of aquariums for goldfish, or the fact that I should have cycled fishless. I know all that and I just want good honest advice from people in my shoes or who have been in this situation before. :fish1:

Welcome to AA! I would just return the tank and try to get a new tank altogether, it doesn't seem like fixing the tank is worth all the trouble.

Hi thanks,