Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2011, 10:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 7
Hi from Vic, Australia

Well I'm brand new to fishkeeping and have made quite a few mistakes. I bought a fishtank from kmart that cracked and went all over the floor. I was halfway thru cycling it, I'd started the cycle fishless, but my fish were in a bowl and I talked to a lady at the petstore who said it was ok to put my fish in just do 50% water changes weekly and bring in water for testing. So now I have a bull nose aquarium with foam underneath so it doesnt crack. Its on my kitchen bench so its well supported. And my fish are currently in the bowl where I had to put them until I bought the new aquarium.

Anyways, I have a few questions.

About a quarter of the water in the new aquarium is from the old one, and the filter is old filter. The filter is a submersible, and what I wanted to know was is it still ok to use when it ran above the water level after my tank cracked? Cos I didn't no it had cracked until I checked on my fish. It seems to be working fine.

I am going to have to put my fish in the new aquarium, the bowl just isn't nice, and to me they're better off in the aquarium, which hopefully is at the same cycling level as the old. I know that it will be rough for them but I have little choice.

Also a corner cover on the outside of the aquarium has come off, what should I use to glue it back on?

PS. I'm not here to be lectured about the size of aquariums for goldfish, or the fact that I should have cycled fishless. I know all that and I just want good honest advice from people in my shoes or who have been in this situation before.
__________________

__________________
Guindoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Welcome to AA! I would just return the tank and try to get a new tank altogether, it doesn't seem like fixing the tank is worth all the trouble.
__________________

__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 7
Hi thanks,

yer oops forgot to mention tht. The tank I bought from kmart, I returned and got my money back, and then I went to the petstore and bought a "real" aquarium, lol.

Just my poor fish are currently being housed in a bowl. Should I get the tank water tested before introducing them?
__________________
Guindoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
How long has your tank been cycling? The main thing is if it can eat away at .5-1 ppm of ammonia in no time.
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 7
It had only been cycling fishless for a couple of weeks, when I took my water to the petstore for cycling. The lady there was very helpful and told me that people were just too inpatient and often introduced fish instead of doing a fishless cycle.

Well the old tank had been cycling for a few weeks, but I had to buy a new one, which I added all the old stuff to, ornaments, filter, filter media substrate so it should be at a similar level to the old fishtank. I suppose the best thing to do would be to just do what the lady at the store advised. Add the fish and do 50% water changes weekly. And take water for testing each week.
__________________
Guindoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 7
I doubt it has been cycling long enough to do tht, which is why Il be doing larger water changes until it can. I never thought keeping an aquarium would be so technical. My brother wants an aquarium when he moves to his new house... I'll def have to help him out. There just isn't enough advice given... but then I'm also guessing people don't ask, and the pet shop is about making profits.
__________________
Guindoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Yes. Let it be setup for bout two more weeks and then it'll be safe to LIGHTLy add a fish each week, unless it is a school.
__________________

__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
goldfish, new aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi from QLD Australia cloudxsoldier Member Introductions 5 07-18-2011 08:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.