Hi I'm completely new to aquariums!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NatureFish

Aquarium Advice Addict
I'm wanting to get a few mollies for a ten gallon that I found on the side of the road! I'd like to get one male black Molly and two females (one white and one Dalmatian). I've done quite a bit if research and I've gathered some of what I need to get set up. I got marineland's water conditioner with all the added healthy stuff and I got the 5 in 1 test strips and I already had some aquarium salt (I heard they were brackish fish and that they needed a little aquarium salt). I even made my very one air line filter. I followed these directions:
I know that this filter will only provide mechanical and some biological filtration, so what else should I provide my mollies? I haven't put any water in yet because I'm going to start cycling the tank tomorrow. Any tips and advice is greatly appreciated and if I'm about to do something wrong please tell me!!! The last thing I want is dead fish. Keep in mind I already have years worth of experience with fish in ponds just not in aquariums which is why I joined. I hope to one day be a wise aquarist!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Hi Nature Fish! Welcome! I began a journey exactly like yours then learned everything I was doing wrong and now I'm struggling to correct it and save my mollies.

Things I learned the hard way:
1. Mollies really need more space than 10 gallons. 30 gal is recommended. I'm struggling with mine in a 20 gal after starting them in a 5 gal. Yikes!
2. They are the MOST sensitive of the live bearers and need very well kept stable clean water. Slow acclimation is important and regular water changes a must!
3. If you buy females, they will most likely be pregnant and will have babies in your tiny tank.