Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-22-2009, 10:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
hi. Im extremely new to keeping fish

Hi, i live in Australia in university accommodation therefore am only allowed to have fish.. but i've always wanted to have pet fish and thought now is the time to have a go

i have bought a tank that has a capacity of 30litres (7.9 gal.) for my betta who is currently in a 3 litre vase/bowl ( i didn't realise how small the vase actually was at the time but he seems to be very happy blowing bubble nests every night and i keep the water very clean).

NOW i am so new to fish keeping so i appologies for the silly questions but thought i'd really like to do this right.

i have had the tank for around 5 days. It has a couple of plants and gravel. i have had the filter and heater running and have been adding a liquid that "establishes the bio-filter" every day because a lady at the pet shop said it would speed up the cycling of it. i was wandering if this is correct? and how long it would take before i can add my little guy in it?.

here r more questions sorry:

How often do i have to do water changes and how much for my size tank?

what do i have to do weekly and monthly?

what should i check with my water? (im going to buy a water test kit)

how do i maintain my filter? (it took me ages to set it up haha). im not exactly sure what kind it is either because the intructions seem to be very general. it says its a "internal filter, supplied with easy cleaning and disposable cartridges" do i have to replace the cartridges monthly?