Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-29-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Hi, Just getting started with all this!

Hi all i'm new to all this just set up my 60 litre Biorb, keeping it very simple with a cold water setup. I was going to get goldfish, but was wondering if anybody has any suggestions for cold water fish that are good to start with. As i have read, keeping fish can be a lot more complicated than i first thought but i have done a bit of research and am willing to learn!

Old 08-29-2011, 03:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 08-29-2011, 05:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

White minnows are a good starting cold water fish I wouldn't do a goldfish in that size of a tank, they need around a 80 liter tank. You could also go tropical as well with just the nice little addition of a small heater. Very simple and cheap and now you'd have almost 10x the amount of fish available to you! Oh and welcome to AA! We're glad to have aboard
Old 08-29-2011, 10:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to the forum!
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist

Thankyou i didn't realise that about goldfish, see i'm a complete beginner! I shall do a little more research
Old 08-30-2011, 12:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist

+1 for getting a heater and going tropical

+1 for avoiding gold fish

I started with a sub 30L tank and originally wanted a cold set up, after finding out there were next to no fish I could keep like that I quickly decided on going for a warm tank.

Heaters aren't very expensive and can really open up the range of fish you can keep.
Old 08-31-2011, 07:11 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist