Hi, Just getting started with all this!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AmyD

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all i'm new to all this just set up my 60 litre Biorb, keeping it very simple with a cold water setup. I was going to get goldfish, but was wondering if anybody has any suggestions for cold water fish that are good to start with. As i have read, keeping fish can be a lot more complicated than i first thought but i have done a bit of research and am willing to learn! :)

White minnows are a good starting cold water fish:) I wouldn't do a goldfish in that size of a tank, they need around a 80 liter tank. You could also go tropical as well with just the nice little addition of a small heater. Very simple and cheap and now you'd have almost 10x the amount of fish available to you! Oh and welcome to AA! We're glad to have aboard:welcome:

Thankyou i didn't realise that about goldfish, see i'm a complete beginner! I shall do a little more research :)

+1 for getting a heater and going tropical

+1 for avoiding gold fish

I started with a sub 30L tank and originally wanted a cold set up, after finding out there were next to no fish I could keep like that I quickly decided on going for a warm tank.

Heaters aren't very expensive and can really open up the range of fish you can keep.

Have decided to go tropical, have to wait to get a heater (although the waiting's killing me!) and then i'll start to cycle the tank patience is the key i belive :)

You can start the cycle without the heater, bacteria are pretty hardy to temp changes.. But certainly you can't rush this hobby!

Will the heater not speed up the process slightly or does it not make much difference? I already have some ammonia and getting the Api master test kit tomorrow as i have the strips so i figure i should get the better kit