Hi, new member with a 29 gallon tank. c:

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aneamals

Aquarium Advice Activist
Um, hi haha. I don't really know what to say.
Well, I'm a beginner fish owner, only ever had a betta when I was like 9. Like I said, and as it says in my signature, I have a 29 gallon tank and I'm planning on keeping freshwater tropical community fish. The tank is still cycling, I had a lot of problems starting the cycle 'cause fish flakes wouldn't produce any ammonia. But now I'm using raw shrimp, the ammonia has risen, so I'm really happy about that. c: Still waiting for the next part of the cycle, nitrite.
I'm planning on adding 4 male Platies, 8 Cherry Barbs, 2 Amano Shrimp, 2 Nerita Snails, and 1 Dwarf Gourami. I don't really want to breed anyone, as I'm still a beginner and don't want to kill all the babies by accident. I'm a little worried how I'm gonna control that with the Cherry Barbs, but let's see.
Hopefully the cycle finishes before university starts which is in a few weeks, so I can have at least 2 Platies in the quarantine tank. XD

Oh, never mind, I'm going to add 5 Amano Shrimp now. Just found out they like to be in groups. Maybe I'll take 1 Cherry Shrimp out and make it 7, I don't have a lot of filter power for any more.

Oh, never mind, I'm going to add 5 Amano Shrimp now. Just found out they like to be in groups. Maybe I'll take 1 Cherry Shrimp out and make it 7, I don't have a lot of filter power for any more.
I meant, I'm taking 1 Cherry BARB out, not Cherry Shrimp, my bad. XD

What you could do is go to a hardware store and look for a janitorial grade ammonia (100%) and use that. Make sure it has no fungicides and other additives, it is much more reliable. I'm going to assume you know how to cycle? If not I can help point you in the right direction.