Hi, newbie incoming!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emma85x

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Thought I'd say hello as I'm a newbie joining AA! I'd very much like some advice with regards to albino corydoras please. Unfortunately I've lost one today...on closer inspection its eyes were missing! Have they been eaten??

Do you think his eyes are just closed??? They do blink and might have closed them when he passed away? I have panda corys and they are my absolute favorite fish ever. So sad.. S.I.P

They definitely weren't closed [emoji22] you could see the hollows where they should of been & he was still alive at this point! I'm thinking he was possibly sick even tho he didn't look it & the shrimps decided to start eating him...only thing I can think of unless anybody else has any suggestions?

I have a couple of questions.
What substrate are you using?
Do you have plastic decorations?
How many corys were with him?
Do you have any aggressive fish?
I was reading a couple more posts about albinos losing their eyes and it's mostly been from substrate injuries, decoration injuries, if he was too stressed because he didn't have enough friends or that there is a bully in the tank who decided to play slender man and scoop out the eyes [emoji53] do you have any aggressive fish?

Substrate is stones but smooth, only real plants & params are normal. I only have 1 other Cory which I know isn't ideal but they seemed happy enough...there only was the two at my LFS. As for aggressive fish I do have an electric blue ram that's very territorial & performs regular attacks on other fish but haven't seen him bothering the cory. He only usually nips at the others tho.