Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-28-2009, 03:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Unhappy Hiya

I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm in the process of cycling a 10 gallon fresh water tropical aquarium. Sadly I have been going about it with starter fish....
After reading about the fish less cycle, i want to go about it that way. I just need to find a new home for my poor stressed starter fish.

Old 08-29-2009, 04:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
Welcome to AA! Thts a very sad story. I wish I could help but I have no where to put them. Maybe you could take them back to the pet store if you can. The only things I have empty are a 2.5g which I'm going to use as a planted tank and my 55 which I'm using as a cichlid tank. I hope you can find them a good home and I'm glad you found out about fishless cycling.

Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
When I first started out I quickly learned to check the facts. The guy at the pet store said the only way to get it going is to use a live fish, I asked about fish food producing ammonia and he said it won't work. (no I feel stupid for believing that lol)

It may seem cruel but if there are no other options (such as bringing them back to the store or giving them to a friend,) you'll just have to let them endure it. When I set up my first 10g i started with three mollies and 2 platys, and they lived for a long time till the mollies got some disease and died.. (not sure what it was, but only the mollies died)

Mistakes happen but they are the best way to learn IMO.

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:09 PM   #4