Hiya

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EscVelocity

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm in the process of cycling a 10 gallon fresh water tropical aquarium. Sadly I have been going about it with starter fish....
After reading about the fish less cycle, i want to go about it that way. I just need to find a new home for my poor stressed starter fish.

Welcome to AA! Thts a very sad story. I wish I could help but I have no where to put them. Maybe you could take them back to the pet store if you can. The only things I have empty are a 2.5g which I'm going to use as a planted tank and my 55 which I'm using as a cichlid tank. I hope you can find them a good home and I'm glad you found out about fishless cycling.

When I first started out I quickly learned to check the facts. The guy at the pet store said the only way to get it going is to use a live fish, I asked about fish food producing ammonia and he said it won't work. (no I feel stupid for believing that lol)

It may seem cruel but if there are no other options (such as bringing them back to the store or giving them to a friend,) you'll just have to let them endure it. When I set up my first 10g i started with three mollies and 2 platys, and they lived for a long time till the mollies got some disease and died.. (not sure what it was, but only the mollies died)

Mistakes happen but they are the best way to learn IMO.

welcome to AA~~
either give the fish back to the store, or do your best to keep it alive through the cycling!! fishless or w/fish cycling, they both work.
so if u don't wanna waste gas and drive to the fs, then just keep the fish and let it do its work.

I didn't know much about aquarium when I first start, I didn't even know what the **** is cycling. I just put water, sand, decor and my fishes in, and my freshwater tank is running for couple years now.