Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-12-2014, 10:28 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by em1981ma View Post
Yeah I do, before I move the temperate fish I would have to set up a new filter I would steal some of the water from the current tank and put into new tank and let It cycle and maybe move the fish over one or two at a time. Maybe starting with the Danios cause they are quite a hardy fish. With my stock as it is, if I moved 4 danios, 3minnows and 2platys to the slightly smaller tank which is 3ftx1ftx1ft. Would I beable to get a couple more of the danios and minnows so they had a few more friends to school with. Could I leave the Pleco with the goldfish cause I heard they like quite cold temperatures?
No tank water doesn't hold any bacteria that keeps your tank cycles. Go ahead and set it up but you need some media from your cycles filter to get the new set-up cycled. Put the pleco with the other fish because I doubt your cycled filter can handle the bioload of 2 goldfish and a pleco. They are all poop machines and have massive bioloads.

What filter is on the cycled tank?
What filter is going on the new set-up?
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:33 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 769
My Platys eat and poop more than any other fish ive ever known lol. I have a EHEIM pick up internal filter. Has a sponge. No carbon filter. has a venture air diffusor. I don't have a new filter yet for spare tank but id probably go for same one. Will Pleco be ok in a Tropical tank? I always rinse sponge in old tank water when I clean it.
__________________

__________________
em1981ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:36 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by em1981ma View Post
My Platys eat and poop more than any other fish ive ever known lol. I have a EHEIM pick up internal filter. Has a sponge. No carbon filter. has a venture air diffusor. I don't have a new filter yet for spare tank but id probably go for same one. Will Pleco be ok in a Tropical tank? I always rinse sponge in old tank water when I clean it.
Then your doing everything right. Yes the pleco will be okay for now. What kind of pleco is it?
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:36 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 769
I have never had a Tropical Tank so I would probably get some advice on that at a local aquatic centre ie best filter, best heater
__________________
em1981ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:39 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by em1981ma View Post
I have never had a Tropical Tank so I would probably get some advice on that at a local aquatic centre ie best filter, best heater
I'm not sure what your aquatic center is but take everything they say with a grain of salt. They will tell you stuff just to get you to buy more. Don't buy anymore fish either! I would get a 200w heater and a filter that does around 400gph
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 769
I'm surprised I went to the Aquatic Design Centre on Great Portland Street and told the exactly what I had in my tank and I went in there just to buy one danio and they encouraged me to get another even though they should have know my tank had goldys in it. So your saying when I move the 10 temprate fish into the other tank that I should get any more and 10 is enough ? Minnows are tiny tho like neon tetra I only have 3
__________________
em1981ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:55 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by em1981ma View Post
I'm surprised I went to the Aquatic Design Centre on Great Portland Street and told the exactly what I had in my tank and I went in there just to buy one danio and they encouraged me to get another even though they should have know my tank had goldys in it. So your saying when I move the 10 temprate fish into the other tank that I should get any more and 10 is enough ? Minnows are tiny tho like neon tetra I only have 3
What size tank will it be? No more fish in the goldy tank for sure.
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:57 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 769
Ok il leave Dave and Hoggle the black moor and oranda in 40 gallon and put other 10 in a New Tropical tank once I get filter and not get anymore for tropical tank, Should I cycle with or with out fish in it? cause ive had mixed advice on this. I did it without fish and slowly introduced after a few days my black moor was first fish in this tank and his still here happy as larry.
__________________
em1981ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:58 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 769
Spare tank that I will make tropical is 3ftx1ftx1ft
__________________
em1981ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:58 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by em1981ma View Post
Ok il leave Dave and Hoggle the black moor and oranda in 40 gallon and put other 10 in a New Tropical tank once I get filter and not get anymore for tropical tank, Should I cycle with or with out fish in it? cause ive had mixed advice on this. I did it without fish and slowly introduced after a few days my black moor was first fish in this tank and his still here happy as larry.
Okay that's about a 20g tank. I would keep what you have and wait before adding more. Your gonna need to transfer media from your cycled filter to your new filter so it cycles way way faster. Do you have an API master test kit?
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum, new to the saltwater scene Jenny_RS Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 18 08-07-2006 02:30 PM
New to forum - new 29 gal tank clandon Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 24 05-06-2005 06:55 PM
New to the forum/New to Saltwater Tanks revhtree Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 04-15-2004 11:05 AM
NEW FORUM ADDED: Sponsor Special forum fishfreek Forum Admin & Announcements 0 11-02-2003 04:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.