i am in need for solid advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

swiftysfish

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to the saltwater hobby but very eager to learn as much as I can about.i had my tank set up for about a year now and everything seems to be going good.I never joined any club or forum before but I figured I would give it a shot.every time i needed advice i would read about it in my books or magazines or ask the local fish stores.but most of the local fish stores around me barely know more than I do which isn't saying much. That or they are jaded by their own egos and products to give me the truth. Im not trying to bash the LF stores but this is too expensive of a hobby to go thru it completely ignorant. I don't know anyone in my life that has this hobby so I have to talk to my wife and family about it. They don't mind having long boring conversations about crap they have no idea what im talking about, but I would like to be able get sound advice from all over the board to make the right choices for my fish' s enviroment.
first I would like to ask anyone that has used the nutrafin ph wide range test. I had bought test kit the other day at the lfs test my water only to find it reading 7.5 now I had added buffer agents to raise it between 8.0 and 8.2. I tested it several more times and the surprise same thing 7.5 my other test kit red sea ph was reading 8.0 now its 8.4 alittle high for me I think. So I brought test kit back to the store and check my water sample the same brand (nutrafin) and hers is reading 7.5 and she said keep buffering . Should I trust this kit or stick with the red sea kit. Im afraid if I keep raising the ph and nutrafin kit is bogus then I will start killing my corals. Im counting on you guys to help me with my dilemma. Thanks