I think I got some bad advice from LFS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jenny H.

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I need help!! I am an amateur at this! I have a 5 gallon tank. Went to Jack's Aquarium and asked questions and I think I got some bad advice. rinsed gravel in a strainer, put gravel in the tank, added the water and some fake plants and a little ship. Put water conditioner and bio boost in the water. 24 hours later after the water temp was 78 and filter had been running for 24 hours i put 3 tetras in it. next morning one was dead. Was told at Jack's to feed them twice a day. well after feeding them twice monday and once tuesday they still hadn't eaten. so i've been frantically reading on the internet about what to do and this is the first i've heard of cycling. i took my small net and cleaned all the fish food out of the bottom that i could, and now my water is cloudy. The 2 surviving fish have been ok swimming around but the water is getting cloudier. the pump runs all the time, and this is day 3 for the fish and they still haven't eaten. went to jack's yesterday when i first got the cloudy water and they told me to put clarifier in it and it would be fine, well it didn't work. Do I just clean it out and start all over? I have a 6 year old special needs son and the tank is for him and his therapy.

Clarifiers usually are a scam. Now that you have fish in your tank, you would need to do a fish in cycle. Do about 20% water change every week to keep the ammonia down.

will the cloudiness go away? did it come from me scooping through it trying to get the fish food out? and will my fish be ok not eating?

Jenny H. said:
still looking for some much needed help