Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 02-24-2016, 05:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a newbie here

Hello, I am Meadowlark.

My first aquarium was a salt water 55 gallon. Yes, I started everything backwards! I had no problems with it, mostly because I'd done a lot of research and studying beforehand. This was in the days of Martin Moe and Julian Sprung. Are they still around? I specialized in Indo-Pacific species. I think the Flame Angel is the most beautiful reef fish in the sea.
Anyway, I 'lost' that tank in an earthquake (mess? you have no idea until you smell a dead anemone) and went several years before I attempted another. That one was a nanoreef of about 20 gallons. I discovered then that I was far more interested in the activities of the invertebrates than in the fish! I truly enjoyed salt water but I found it taking up far more time than I had.

Life got in the way and I had to dismantle that one and sold my livestock to a reef wizard who lives in Montana and I'll be darned if I can remember his name.

I have recently gotten back into aquariums, this time freshwater. I am currently in the middle of trying to get a 29 gal tank cycled without fish. I was freaked when I found a white scum on the water surface, and surfing on the net led me here. I wasn't too worried as I knew it couldn't have been too bad, as there is nothing organic in the tank at the moment. Still it is odd to see snowfall on a freshwater. (I learned about snowing in the tank when I over kalkwassered my nanoreef.)

I want to stock my freshwater tank with some lovely dwarf neon rainbows, so any advice will be appreciated.

Meadowlark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 07:54 AM   #2
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
Hi, welcome to the forum