I'm Gish from Baltimore!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gish

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a newbie myself with less than 30 days of aquarium experience. Kudos to crqwdaddy for diving into the hobby with a huge tank! You are the man!

Hi! I just started with a 10 gallon that was a gift from our housewarming party circa 2006. Finally my kids are of age to show some interest in the fishtank as well.

I'm a newbie myself with less than 30 days of aquarium experience. I am learning a lot about the hobby through this forum and other websites (firsttankguide.net is another one i like). I also try to milk the staff at my LFS and MMFS for info. There is often some contradictory advice among the sources.

I'm following a low tech route thusfar and used a fish-in cycle with some platys. I had the bacterial bloom last wk and now the water is clear. i've only tested the water 3 times: twice at my favorite LFS (go Tom's Tropicals!) and once at the mmfs (mega-mart fish store). they told me my water was soft but 0 on the 3 nitrogenous compounds.

I now have 7 platys (2 boys, 5 girls), a silver mollie (a tattoed one)*, and a mollie fry which came with it (it wasn't born with a tattoo) I have some anubias, hygrophilia, amazon sword. 2 fake plants, a shark saying 'no fishing' and a artificial seashell with some fake plants on it. I want to add a betta if things flourish in the next 2 weeks. I realize I am probably overstocked and am already researching bigger tanks. at the same time I have to give myself some time to ensure that my enthusiasm doesn't wane.

I'll post pics of my tank soon. Thanks for allowing me to join you all in this fun and exciting hobby.

*I apologize for this one. My kids love it, it has tiny multicolored hearts on it. Believe me my wife and I agonized about buying this.

Hi and Welcome.
Sounds like you are on your way...