Introducing Myself---and Thanks for Any Help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Militarybooks

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All

I am back into the hobby after many years away (family, moves, career, etc.) You know how it goes. I used to have a 135 gal african cichlid tank and a 75 general freshwater tank. It has been about 14 years. I was a trial attorney for a long while, but fell into my love and passion for books and history and have built a successful military history publishing company. Beats the pants off working for a living. :)

Just picked up a 135 with no accessories on a nice stand (which I am stripping and staining to match my floor--quite a task). I am going to do another African cichlid tank and am so looking forward to that. Just reacquainting myself with all the complexities of keeping this fish, the robust nature of the Internet vis a vis our fish hobby, and thinking about equipment to pick up, whether to make my own fake rocks or buy regular rocks, and so on.

I welcome ALL ideas, from lighting to substrate and all in between. Right now trying to figure out Rena or FLuval, and what size canisters and one or two. Thanks a lot. I know I am going to love this forum and website.

Ted

:welcome: to AA! :)
I have xp2 and 3 and love them. Is go ether two for a 6' tank.
---

Hi Andy

Thanks. So you have two Rena canisters. You find them quiet, safe, and reliable and effective? So many to choose from.

I am not sure what your last sentence means? If you mean you would definitely use two on a six foot tank, what sizes would you recommend, and why?

[And anyone reading, please jump in. I value your opinions.]

THANKS.

Militarybooks said:
---

Hi Andy

Thanks. So you have two Rena canisters. You find them quiet, safe, and reliable and effective? So many to choose from.