Introduction

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stuartf1986

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone

My name is Stuart,I am really interested in getting my first aquarium but I am a complete novice and am just looking for what's best to get started,any advice would be appreciated

Thanks

You need to do a Fishless Cycle, I'm sure some of the other members will go into detail for you.

What size tank do you have?

Hi

Sorry I should have said I don't have a tank yet,what size would u recommend for a beginner?

Hi

Sorry I should have said I don't have a tank yet,what size would u recommend for a beginner?

As big as u can afford! Novice (including old me) believes that small tanks are easier to maintain! but no its not! its actually harder because u have less room for error! :)

Also a big warm welcome to AA! may u flourish in this hobby! hahah:fish2:

Hi

To start with, decide what fish your looking to get as that will decide the size of the tank you'll need, which determines the size of filtration needed. Let us know what fish your interested in, we can help with suggestions. Some fish are schooling/ shoaling fish that need to be in groups so they feel secure, thus ultimately in better health.

Believe it or not, bigger is actually better .. or easier. The larger the tank volume, the more forgiving should you make a mistake (it happens).

jcolon said:
To start with, decide what fish your looking to get as that will decide the size of the tank you'll need, which determines the size of filtration needed. Let us know what fish your interested in, we can help with suggestions. Some fish are schooling/ shoaling fish that need to be in groups so they feel secure, thus ultimately in better health.

Believe it or not, bigger is actually better .. or easier. The larger the tank volume, the more forgiving should you make a mistake (it happens).