Introduction old thread 2002

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
P

Pat

Hi, folks! I'm new to AA.com and fish-keeping.

One friend suggested that my home needed something "living" besides me. Another said that, according to Feng Shui, a fish near the front door brings wealth into the house. Although I love dogs, I'm not home enough to do one justice, I'm trying to sell my house, and I needed a relaxing hobby. So, starting an aquarium was the logical choice.

My sister and nephew, visiting from my hometown of Buffalo, NY, helped get me started. I have a 20-gal. freshwater tank with 5 tetra serpae, a wonderful piece of driftwood, and a few aesthetically pleasing (but plastic) plants.

I'd appreciate any advice from you experienced aquarists.

Thanks!
Pat :n00b:

Oops! Gotta transfer already to the "Freshwater" crowd! -- Pat :?

Welcome3.gif

Hello Pat,
I am not sure exactly what advice you need.... For just straight out general advice we need to know more about your tank.
  • filtration
  • temp
  • ammonia
  • nitrite
  • ph
  • how often are water changes preformed
  • anything else you do to the tank
Without a little more info, it is pretty difficult to give good advice :roll: If you have anymore specific questions, please feel free to post.

This thread was moved to it's current forum.

Hello Pat,
I am not sure exactly what advice you need.... For just straight out general advice we need to know more about your tank.

Without a little more info, it is pretty difficult to give good advice If you have anymore specific questions, please feel free to post.

OK, here goes...