Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-29-2011, 03:18 PM   #231
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Territoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 212
also..I am getting a bit of algae growth on the leaves of some of the plastic plants of the 55...should I be concerned?
__________________

__________________
Territoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:17 PM   #232
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
not unless it really overtakes everhthing.
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:23 PM   #233
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
hob does stand for hang on back, if your ph is 8.2 a pwc isn't gonna do anything. You're taking more steps, looks like the trites are coming down. Once trites hit 0, the ammonia should follow and then ta da! Cycle finished the reason we are being so adament about having 0 ammonia is because it kills quickly and it doesn't really take much. Almost there I promise
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:36 PM   #234
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Territoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 212
my ammonia goes down every day to .25 or lower. I dose it up to 4ppm and 12 hours later it is down to .25 or lower. it is the NO2 that doesn't seem to be budging.... it might be going down a tiny bit..slightly less purple, but I think it's just my wishful thinking....
__________________
Territoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:39 PM   #235
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Territoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 212
By the way...THANK YOU for all of your words of encouragement. If it weren't for those words I'm sure there would be several more fish in this world basking in a tank full of ammonia and nitrites...
__________________
Territoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 05:14 PM   #236
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
don't mention it. I'd hate to see someone so enthusiastic about this hobby get discouraged. I'm not quite sure why your trites aren't coming down. Perhaps try doing a pwc and see if that affects it at all. It can't hurt. Even if its coming down slowly that's still a good sign. The tank could prob handle some fish but there's still the possibility of it spiking, which if hate to see
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:12 PM   #237
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Territoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 212
So, I've been putting 20ml of ammonia in the tank in the mornings, and then 20 again in the evenings, which doses it up to 4ppm, but it's down to .25 or 0 ppm within 12 hours. So....the question is....when the time DOES come to transfer the fish, how many can I put in at a time, and how do I do it? It seems like it might take quite a few fish to create 20ml of ammonia in 12 hours? I don't want to starve my newly formed BB's!

Do I just net the fish out of the 10g and throw 'm into the 55? Do I put them in a baggie and float them? Do I put them in a fishbowl with there 10g's water and then add the water from the 55 to the fishbowl, til they r acclimated?

The trites aren't ready, yet. I'm just assuming it's going to happen soon and I want to be READY!
__________________
Territoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 09:00 PM   #238
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Your best bet is to to simply take a cup or two of water out of the 10g, dump it out, then replace it with water from the 55. Do that every 20-30 minutes when you have a free evening (I'd say for around 2 hours) then that way you just acclimated them al at once like I said earlier, you prob could add the fish now and be ok, but it may stress them and spike the tank a bit, no need to do them harm right? if your ammonia is now reading at 0 when you test, the trites should drop shortly after.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 09:06 PM   #239
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Just outta curiousty, could you get parameters for both the 10g and the cycling 55? I just realized that your 10g is over stocked and the parameters could possibly be higher than the 55. .. Test both and let me know what the results are
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 12:42 AM   #240
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Territoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 212
the 55 gallon tank is still about the same readings:

AM - between 0 and .25 ppm
NO2 - between 2 and 5ppm
No3 - 10ppm


the over crowded 10 gallon is interesting...

AM - 0ppm
No2 - .50
No3 80



SO, what do you think? DO you think it would help to move the filter from the 10g on over to the 55? maybe some move some of the plastic plants from the 10 to the 55? MAybe, when I do a partial water change on the 10G, put the water into the 55?
__________________

__________________
Territoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ich, newbie

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Share your mistakes! kaaikop Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 09-15-2011 03:32 AM
My 40 Breeder and Mistakes Lady_Lynn Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-01-2011 05:27 PM
I think I made some newbie mistakes.. EEk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 38 03-27-2004 07:35 AM
Made the move.... Everyone made it alive..... Verbalkint Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-26-2004 11:47 AM
Made some mistakes…need help stein Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-18-2003 06:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.