Just swimming in!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BettaBetta

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! I'm Ashton, I am a soon-to-be college student and athlete. I play soccer and I am completely new to fish keeping and I haven't even gotten my first tank set up or going yet. I am very excited though! My university has let me know that I can bring one 5gal tank with me to school, and since I will be a pre-veterinary student. I thought it would be fitting to bring a pet along, but I have been doing my research on fish (so that my fish will be healthy and happy!) and I look forward to meeting and speaking with all of you!

Welcome and congrats on pre vet! Couldn't talk my daughter into it unfortunately :rolleyes: What school will you be attending?

I'll be attending Lindenwood University-Belleville in Illinois! I hope she finds something better than helping animals then! Thanks for the welcome!

Sent from my XT1097 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

She's a chem major, was going to go pre med but I think she's leaning towards research now.

Any ideas how you'd like to stock the 5g?

Hello and welcome. I have an idea for your tank that you might like. Since you seem so eager to learn about water creatures my suggestion is shrimp and plants, they aren't typically recommended for beginners but I think you can do it with practice and learning.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G800A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

She's a chem major, was going to go pre med but I think she's leaning towards research now.

Any ideas how you'd like to stock the 5g?

Well since I'm going to college, I was thinking something simple in the tank like a small betta and a buddy bottom-feeder (if the tank isn't too small) but I know that bettas are aggressive and I'd be pleased with just one and some plants, but I don't know anything about aquatic planting 0: