Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-12-2010, 09:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Love watching water cycle

I am new to salt water aquariums and just starting my 29gal FOWLR. So Far I have 20 lbs of crushed coral, 10 lbs of live sand, an Emperor 350 HOB filter and a coralife 50-50 bulb. I have had water in my tank already and the filter running for just about a week now but that is about it. My SG is steady at 1.023. I plan on introducing my live rock late next week after the tank has been running for about 2 weeks. I am going fishless cycle the tank and have tried using the shrimp method for about 3 days before my wife made me take it out.

I am planning on a stocking my tank with a clown fish, anemone, turbo snails and a blue leg hermit crab. I would like to add one more fish and am considering a blennie but have not made up my mind yet.

I do not even have my 29g setup with fish yet and am looking to get a 55g. I plan on setting up the 29g and having that up for a bit while I get the supplies for the 55g. I have been doing research for the last 3 months before I even added water to my tank but am still very nervous. I will keep you posted of the progress.

trindler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 10:40 AM   #2
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award
Welcome aboard. Glad you found us. Be careful getting the anenome. They need a well established tank of about a year. That way your water parameters are stable and not bouncing all around. Also your lighting is not enough for an anenome. You`ll need a more intense lighting system for it to survive. Keep us updated on the tank. Good luck with it.

melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:05 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:02 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus