My 1st Low Tech Planted Tank 2.5G

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

itsabadjoey

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone!

My name is Joseph and I am fairly new to the hobby. After years of research and going to our local Fish Group meetings to gain as much knowledge as I could, I gained the confidence to begin my very first planted tank. On, January 4, 2017 I purchased my very first tank from Petco, the TopFin 2.5G Retreat and stocked it slowly with plants and a betta at first since they are a hardier fish, to begin cycling the tank. Of course I made sure I had the tank running for about a week using the Fluval Biological Enhancer Bacteria to prevent new tank syndrome. I modified the filtration to optimize the tanks health and filtration power as well as added biological biomax media to the back compartment. I am very happy to say that so far I've had this bad boy running for about 4 months and the parameters are within range, my plants seem to be doing well and the fish and invert are extremely happy and active with CRAZY appetites. As far as some issues I've faced in the past was the death of some riccia and most recently a problem with red algae killing off some of the leaves on my S. Repens, all thanks to the crappy product I use to remove ammonia, chlorine and nitrates from my water (Betta Basics - Seachem - Phosphate Buffer - big 3 enhancer - SMH!). To combat this I am turning off the lights and have purchased Seachem Prime. I dose daily with .5ml Flourish Excel and do a 40%-60% weekly water change due to my stocking option. I do need some advice on liquid ferts for a tank this small. I have read that with a tank of this size liquid ferts sometimes cause changes in water parameters and even PH. I do use Flourish tabs for root support and long term plant health. I have included some pics and a video of the various stages and shap