my first fish tank on my own

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

burnttrees

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to the taking care of a fish tank on my own. I had a couple over the years that my parents or others looked after but none myself.
I liked the idea of an aquatic garden and my friend gave me a couple of the plants she had in excess in her fish tank (not sure what type of plant)along with her old water pump (penguin 170) it needs to be rebuilt the one of the blue slide bearings for the bio wheel is missing but my tank cycled without the bio wheel in place or even the filter being replaced for over a year (my friend didn't do that as often as it should have been done)