My First Forum

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Foxietiny

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have only just joined, as I am very new to keeping fresh water fish. I have two aquariums, one is only a 20 litre tank and the other is 70 litres. I have 2 Platys, 2 Swordtails, numerous Guppys and three Mollys. I really love the Mollys, but I have lost the last three I had. I also have two Clown Loaches as I had a problem with snails, as was advised that they would eat them for me.
This time decided to try one more time. I have only been testing the PH levels, as our local Pet Store has told me that is all that is required. I have taken samples of my water to them for testing, and have been told all other levels are good.
I currently have a gold Molly with red marks on each side of her body towards the back, I only noticed some white marks on her yesterday and now have her isolated in a jug with some salt added, as I am not sure what it is she has or what else to do with her. Any suggestions on how to treat her and also why I don't seem to be able to keep Mollys successfully would be greatly appreciated.
I have also read conflicting reports on whether to add salt to the Aquarium or not, at this stage I have not.
I am looking forward to learning on this forum, as I really enjoy the fish.
Foxietiny.
:thanks:

Maybe this will help you...I found it while looking for some other info.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/members/absolutangel04-41295.html

"Looks/sounds like ich.
Usually, you can kill ich with just heat. 86-88 should kill it. Like wiggles said, keep the temp up for a week after the last visible spot is gone. Any given ich treatment only kills one lifecycle of the ich, so you have to treat through the entire ich lifer cycle to make sure that every bit of it has reached the life stage where it can be killed.