My first saltwater tank - Aqueon 36 Gallon bowfront

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rlaboris

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys...
This is my first time setting up a saltwater aquarium...
I've had plenty of fresh water tanks in the past but, honestly, was always afraid to get into marine. Seeing all that equipment is daunting, not to mention all the people scaring me off!
I have some pics to post while I wait for the "cycle"...

I've learned ALOT online and on youtube, but I'm sure I have a lot to learn.

Welcome to the forum! There are some great stickies for starting a sw tank under getting started, they are at the top.

if you need anything specific just ask. Alot of salties on this site. :-D

Welcome to Aquarium Advice! Everyone here is very helpful, so ask as many questions as you want. Remember, the only silly question is the one that isn't asked.

Thanks... First newbie question

Looks like a great site!

So ive read alot about cycling... Saw a video from a guy named new york steelo which was great!

Ive been running my system for almost 1 week... Already getting really high amonia readings (spike?) but also nitrite very high. Nitrate is middle of the road. Could my system be in the middle of the cycle already?
I was expecting to wait at least a month (though im anxious to add some critters odpf course)

Thanks for any advice?

How much live rock do you have? You dont have any livestock yet do you?
From those readings itr would seem you are mid cycle. Are you using liquid test kit or dip sticks?

I have 40lbs live sand, 40lbs live rock and the marineland 220 canister (with bio balls and ceramic disks)...
No live stock yet... (My son can't wait)

Using test kit with drops.