Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2013, 05:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 18
My first tank!

Hello everyone. I have the topfin 10 gal starter kit with a gravel substrate and an airstone. I just got it a little over a week ago. Currently it is stocked with 3 glofish and 2 zebra danios and... plastic plants.
__________________

__________________
BlueHeeler314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 12:04 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Hi, welcome to AA!

What are your ammonia and nitrite testing at? It sounds as if you perhaps did not cycle your tank before getting fish. This article might be useful for you:
I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 18
I used prime in the water and let it run in the tank for 2 days before i added 2 zebra danios. After 3 days i was still showing 0 ammonia. I decided to add more fish because i thought maybe they didnt produce enough bioload. Now the reading for ammonia is a bit under .25 ppm. Still showing 0 nitrite and nitrate at the moment. ! have had the fish in for 9 days. I was reading articles about how to grow bacteria faster and from what i read the bacteria that uses ammonia reproduces fastest around 7.8-8.0 ph which is where my water is at. I also have my airstone on very high to keep the oxygen high, again because what i read about the bacteria is they thrive in o2 saturation of 80%+. But still no sign of nitrites which tells me there is no bacteria.
__________________
BlueHeeler314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:05 PM   #4
Lt.
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lt.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wasilla AK
Posts: 808
Well it sounds like you got into this with a good basic understanding of things, may o ask, are you using a strip test kit, or a liquid?
__________________
Whenever I watch the News, no matter what network it is, i'm like:
Lt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 18
Liquid test kit (API). And yes im following the directions completely.
__________________
BlueHeeler314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:12 PM   #6
Lt.
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lt.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wasilla AK
Posts: 808
I also think that you (once your tank is cycled) could (and should) get some cories. IME they do just fine with a gravel substrate as long as its rounded and not jagged.
__________________
Whenever I watch the News, no matter what network it is, i'm like:
Lt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 18
i figured corys would be too big for a 10 gal because you need a group. I was looking at the otocinclus because they only get 2 inches. I have been reading a lot of people like those corys a lot though. I guess I have plenty of time to consider what to get next. I also cant decide what fish i want as a single center piece. Is a 10 gal big enough for a male betta in a community tank? Not really sure what other fish would be good as the only of its species.
__________________
BlueHeeler314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:25 PM   #8
Lt.
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lt.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wasilla AK
Posts: 808
Dwarf cories would work.
__________________
Whenever I watch the News, no matter what network it is, i'm like:
Lt. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 18
The only places i have around here that i know of to get fish are petco and petsmart. They just had cory and albino. I live in St. Louis, Mo. if anyone happens to know of a place. Kinda sucks not having many options.
__________________
BlueHeeler314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Aquarium Store Finder - Map Try this site!
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
first tank, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Hello | 55 to 150 »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.