Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-18-2012, 12:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

My Intro

Hello obviously I'm new the the forum. I'm a college student in my senior year and am looking to start a new hobby. I've had a small aquarium when I was younger and am looking to get back into it. I recently purchased a 44 gallon pentagon aquarium and stand from a co-worker and have just finished cleaning it out and moved it into place. I'm waiting on my Fluval 306 canister filter to come in before I cycle the aquarium, so in while I wait I have been looking for what type of fish I want to keep. First I wanted to keep african cichlids from lake Malawi, but i've been told they are more difficult to keep and my tank may not be large enough for them so I'm keeping my options open. I've been playing with AqAdvisor and been looking for fish that would be compatible and provide a lot of color. Currently, I'm considering 2 German Blue Rams, 2 Golden Rams, and possible 4 Dwarf Gouramis (not sure what ones specifically, but I like the Dwarf Flame Gouramis. Also I plan on stocking the tank with roughly 10 tetras (possibly 5 black skirt tetras and 5 red phantom tetras.) So far, AqAdvisor hasn't flagged me saying the fish in the quantities listed are not compatible, but I would love to hear what people have to say.

Thanks, I'm looking forward to being part of the community.

Old 08-18-2012, 12:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AA!

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 01:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict