My Intro

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eAts

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello obviously I'm new the the forum. I'm a college student in my senior year and am looking to start a new hobby. I've had a small aquarium when I was younger and am looking to get back into it. I recently purchased a 44 gallon pentagon aquarium and stand from a co-worker and have just finished cleaning it out and moved it into place. I'm waiting on my Fluval 306 canister filter to come in before I cycle the aquarium, so in while I wait I have been looking for what type of fish I want to keep. First I wanted to keep african cichlids from lake Malawi, but i've been told they are more difficult to keep and my tank may not be large enough for them so I'm keeping my options open. I've been playing with AqAdvisor and been looking for fish that would be compatible and provide a lot of color. Currently, I'm considering 2 German Blue Rams, 2 Golden Rams, and possible 4 Dwarf Gouramis (not sure what ones specifically, but I like the Dwarf Flame Gouramis. Also I plan on stocking the tank with roughly 10 tetras (possibly 5 black skirt tetras and 5 red phantom tetras.) So far, AqAdvisor hasn't flagged me saying the fish in the quantities listed are not compatible, but I would love to hear what people have to say.

Thanks, I'm looking forward to being part of the community.

Welcome! There is tons and tons of info out there, so be sure to read up on everything and take your time absorbing everything. It is very easy to make mistakes in the beginning, especially during the cycling process and fish compatibility. The key is to be patient and ask a lot of questions. Everyone here is very helpful and willing to answer your questions.