Need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MyBabyLuscious

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I have a beautiful jaguar ciclyd named Luscious and from what it seems like he has pop eye in both eyes and I’m so devastated. We cleaned his tank real good but I’m still worried about him. I’ve had him for two years now and he is my baby. What do you all suggest?

I'm sorry. Pop eye sucks.

Hi everyone! I have a beautiful jaguar ciclyd named Luscious and from what it seems like he has pop eye in both eyes and I’m so devastated. We cleaned his tank real good but I’m still worried about him. I’ve had him for two years now and he is my baby. What do you all suggest?

Hi, this is also my first post to AA...
I am just a novice keeper of two fancy goldfish, and I don't feel I'm in a position to offer specific advice to you regarding Luscious and his pop eye.
However, I do want to offer my support, and share my pop eye experience with you.

My red cap oranda goldfish "Wilma" developed pop eye while coexisting with another fancy goldfish ("Orangey") in a 10 gallon tank. (The tank was obviously overstocked.)
I have since moved both fish into a new 54 gallon corner tank. While I cycled the new tank, I quarantined and medicated Wilma . I didn't observe any response to the treatment. After 2 weeks I put her into the larger tank with Orangey.
Nearly 2 months later, Wilma and Orangey are happy as ever in their new home. Wilma's eyes are still "popped", but I haven't observed any increased eye issues or additional tail veining. I have stocked up on some medicated food for a possible future treatment. In the meantime, I keep up with water changes, and continue to watch Wilma closely for other signs of illness. (I hope she is recovering, because quarantining her sucks. Orangey gets depressed and sulks in the back corner of the tank. :hide:)