Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-20-2015, 08:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
need help starting aquarium cycle with pure ammonia.

I was wondering if anybody can help me.I'm trying to start a new cycle in my 55 gallon tank I read online in a couple.post that I was suppose to use 8ml of ammonia a day to get the cycle started but my ammonia is off the chart now so I was wondering if anybody can give.me advice I started the tank Friday any info will help I'm using 10%ammonia with no solvent s thanks
__________________

__________________
mike020689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 09:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,904
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
Hey Mike, welcome to AA!

What's your ammonia reading? And what test kit are you using? If you're using a test strip kit you may be getting inaccurate readings; that might be the problem. Otherwise, you added too much ammonia.

Try doing a 50% water change and then see where your ammonia is. If it's still off the charts, or above 4ppm, do another 50% water change and check again. Keep doing that until your ammonia is between 2 and 4 ppm.

You shouldn't need to add 8mL of ammonia per day. The goal is to add as much ammonia as you need to in order to keep it between 2 and 4 ppm. If the ammonia is already in that range, you don't need to add anything. When the bacteria starts to grow and the ammonia starts to drop, that's when you need to add some more, and then you just keep adding it until around 2ppm of ammonia is completely converted to nitrate in 24 hours. At that point, do a water change to get your nitrate into acceptable levels and then you're all set!
__________________

__________________
Got a question about loaches? Ask me!
Loach count: 22
Baby fish count: 12 (multis)
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 09:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinibotia View Post
Hey Mike, welcome to AA!

What's your ammonia reading? And what test kit are you using? If you're using a test strip kit you may be getting inaccurate readings; that might be the problem. Otherwise, you added too much ammonia.

Try doing a 50% water change and then see where your ammonia is. If it's still off the charts, or above 4ppm, do another 50% water change and check again. Keep doing that until your ammonia is between 2 and 4 ppm.

You shouldn't need to add 8mL of ammonia per day. The goal is to add as much ammonia as you need to in order to keep it between 2 and 4 ppm. If the ammonia is already in that range, you don't need to add anything. When the bacteria starts to grow and the ammonia starts to drop, that's when you need to add some more, and then you just keep adding it until around 2ppm of ammonia is completely converted to nitrate in 24 hours. At that point, do a water change to get your nitrate into acceptable levels and then you're all set!

My ammonia now is way past 8ppm an I'm using api liquid test kit an thanks for the info. The one website I found obviously was wrong. I'll try doing the 50% water change tomorrow after work an see if I can get it down between 2-4 ppm. After I do 50% percent water change how long should I wait to test the water? About an hour ? Thank s for replying an trying to help me get this figured out.
__________________
mike020689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 09:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,904
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike020689 View Post
My ammonia now is way past 8ppm an I'm using api liquid test kit an thanks for the info. The one website I found obviously was wrong. I'll try doing the 50% water change tomorrow after work an see if I can get it down between 2-4 ppm. After I do 50% percent water change how long should I wait to test the water? About an hour ? Thank s for replying an trying to help me get this figured out.
Yeah, an hour sounds good. If you've added ammonia every day since friday you may want to just do a 90% water change to start with and the go from there.
__________________
Got a question about loaches? Ask me!
Loach count: 22
Baby fish count: 12 (multis)
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 10:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Okay I'll try that thanks. Also if I do 90% and its still reading high after a hour. Would you recommend to do a 50% after or how much if the 90% doesn't get it down enough? Also I found a ammonia calculator for how much ammonia to add to get desired level off ppm I'll send the link can you tell me if it sounds correct for 3ppm it says I believe 6.57 ml of ammonia to get 3ppm of ammonia thanks

http://www.fishforums.net/aquarium-calculator.htm
__________________
mike020689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 10:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,904
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike020689 View Post
Okay I'll try that thanks. Also if I do 90% and its still reading high after a hour. Would you recommend to do a 50% after or how much if the 90% doesn't get it down enough? Also I found a ammonia calculator for how much ammonia to add to get desired level off ppm I'll send the link can you tell me if it sounds correct for 3ppm it says I believe 6.57 ml of ammonia to get 3ppm of ammonia thanks

Calculator
If it's still reading high just keep doing big water changes. With no fish in the tank there's no harm in it. If you end up getting too low you can just add some more. 6-7 mL sounds perfect.
__________________
Got a question about loaches? Ask me!
Loach count: 22
Baby fish count: 12 (multis)
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 10:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Okay thanks a lot for all your help I'll give that a try an keep you posted.
__________________

__________________
mike020689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, aquarium, cycle, star, start, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a cycle with used filters. Do I need Ammonia? gregcuoz Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 02-11-2012 12:04 AM
Raw shrimp or pure ammonia to cycle? severum mama Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 06-15-2007 11:13 AM
I have this bottle of ammonia...is it pure? ManannanMacLir Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 07-10-2006 11:44 PM
Where to find the 100% pure ammonia? critter905 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 01-26-2005 11:20 AM
Is pure ammonia necessary if fish aren't in the tank? An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-13-2003 02:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.