New and Need Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cloud Chalk

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone! My name is Jodie and I'm completely new to this hobby.

I have read up on information about tank set ups and I think I have it all wrong! :(

I have a Beta fish (Called Mango) And at first he was in a small tank that was advertised as being made for beta fish, but I felt bad him being in such a small space so I went out and brought a HUGE vase to put him in, I have some gravel, a plastic plant (Which I read might be wrong for him and I might need to buy a silk plant?) a filter, a heater and a thermometer. I am going to add photos so you can get a better idea.

Now my problem is because I'm trying to set up the new tank, I had to take the filter out of Mangos current tank and since there has appeared a lot of white stuff.. almost as if someone has spit in there :confused: (Sorry to be gross) I can't put him in the new tank yet because it hasn't been set up long enough (Less than 24 hours so far) So what should I do?

In the new tank I have put in 2 things, a good bacteria liquid and a water conditioner.. (Will add photos) I filled the new tank with roughly 25 pints of water (I think that's 12 1/2 litres?) The heater I have is an old one and as far as I can tell, you cant set it to stay at a set temperature and when I leave it on constantly it goes over the green area on my thermometer. Do I need to buy a more up to date one?

I feel so bad that I've set up Mango's environment all wrong I don't want him to die or be unhealthy :(

What should I do while I wait for the new tank to be set up? What's the shortest amount of time I can wait before adding him to it?