New and need some help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cashjack

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi thanks for looking. I have a 29 gallon tank I started about a month ago. Started with driftwood and some dragon rock. eco complete plant substrate and a bunch of live plants I’m not sure what they are, random from a lfs. My problem is my ph keeps buffering up high. Like 8.5 high. I’ll do a 25% water change and and hour later it tests at 7.4 or so. I’m on a well but my water is great and comes out of the tap at 7.0 But a few days later I’m back to 8.5ish. I’ve added a few fish , serpae tetras. 3 died 2 are alive. I have 3 Cory’s now and one oto. I’m afraid to really add anything because of the ph swings. Someone suggested maybe I got cichlid substrate by mistake, I don’t have the bag, but my receipt said plant.
I have a master test kit, never really have noticed a spike in ammonia. And my nitrates and nitrites have always been 0. I’m just at a loss and looking for any help or anything to try.

I think so. From what I read I did the right things. My lfs told me with the plants in there I might not have seen the spike in ammonia.

I think so. From what I read I did the right things. My lfs told me with the plants in there I might not have seen the spike in ammonia.

Likely the tank isn't fully cycled, plus massive pH swings and you have yourself a recipe for dead fish ;) . We've all done it, so don't sweat it.

What decor do you have in the tank? Something is buffering that pH way up and it really should be removed. Rocks/substrate are the most likely. Do you have a pic at all?

Your LFS was partly right with plants using ammonium N during cycling, but you would need massive amounts of plant mass and proper conditions for their growth to eliminate all ammonia/ammonium readings.