New Aquarist Joining the Ranks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gouramii

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone!

My name is Gouramii and I am a high school student
from Canada. I started up my 10 Gallon tank this past September
and everything so far is going alright.

I am keeping only gouramis since they are my favorite type of freshwater fish. Right now I have 4 dwarf gouramis and 1 honey dwarf gourami. I added these fish (of course not at all the same time) about two weeks after starting my tank. I started the tank with a comet goldfish and added my first real fish (honey gourami) a week after. I then added what I thought was a female honey (for I thought what I purchased already was male) but she had died today of a broken water bladder ("she" showed the symptoms of one). Now I only pocess 5 fish altogether.

The main reason why I joined this site is that I am a new aquarist but also I have fallen in love with fish that don't come with much information attached. The pet store I go to can't help me with my questions so there must be someone here who understands my pain as a gourami hobbyist. Sexing gouramis has defeated me. I think my female was so stressed out because there were only males in the tank. Now I'm worried my "males" are going to start to fight. My poor tiny honey gourami! He's the smallest in the tank and I'm worried about him the most although everyone seems peaceful at the moment.

Watch out, for I am going to be posting tons of topics all over the site!

Hello everyone!

and everything so far is going alright.