Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-09-2012, 01:29 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
I will be Getting the API test kit tomorrow and will forward the test results on to the site. Here is the empty tank

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2471880686.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	148.0 KB
ID:	111512
__________________

__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:30 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
I also bought the terra safe start bacteria to jump start the tank, I put this is before I even out any fish in
__________________

__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:37 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
I also bought the terra safe start bacteria to jump start the tank, I put this is before I even out any fish in
Most of that stuff is junk and never really works from my understanding. You would be better off seeing if the store you go to will give you some seeded media from there tanks. What is the thing in the middle of the tank kinda looks like a butterfly? Did you have that and just put it in there? Or did you buy that from a aquarium shop with the rest of their decor stuff?
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
Nope everything I have I bought from the pet store aka pet smart and I have all ready asked them if them would and they declined saying that it was some sort of liability issue, no idea why but I don't know anyone else around with a freshwater tank.
__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:51 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Nope everything I have I bought from the pet store aka pet smart and I have all ready asked them if them would and they declined saying that it was some sort of liability issue, no idea why but I don't know anyone else around with a freshwater tank.
Cool then your on the right track.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:56 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
Ok so I read the article on fish less cycling ang it really doesn't tell me how much ammonia I should be adding just 4 ppm so what a table spoon, I know prob so stupid but I'm trying to figure this out without harming anymore fish
__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:03 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Ok so I read the article on fish less cycling ang it really doesn't tell me how much ammonia I should be adding just 4 ppm so what a table spoon, I know prob so stupid but I'm trying to figure this out without harming anymore fish
When doing a fishless cycle you cant have fish in there so you can't harm them witch is great. What I always do is just add drops and keep testing till it reaches 4ppm. When buying ammonia it has to be pure 100% ace hardware sells it and I'm sure you can find it other places aswell.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:03 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Ok so I read the article on fish less cycling ang it really doesn't tell me how much ammonia I should be adding just 4 ppm so what a table spoon, I know prob so stupid but I'm trying to figure this out without harming anymore fish
U don't have to put ammonia in there I didn't do Tht and my fish are just fine....did u buy the tank new or used
__________________
Guggiboy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:08 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
Ok so tomorrow ammonia, API test kit and let the testing begin!
__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Ok so tomorrow ammonia, API test kit and let the testing begin!
Yes just post ur results
__________________

__________________
Guggiboy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.