Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-05-2012, 10:23 PM   #51
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Andrew, I dosed ammonia back to 4ppm and today there is 0 ppm, nitrites at about 5ppm highest that is on the test kit. Nitrate is between 20-40. I dosed ammonia back up to 2ppm I don't want to starve the bacteria. What is next on the game plan?
Have you started picking out fish yet? Your almost there those nitrites should turn to nitrate then water changes to lower the nitrates then fish. So your almost there yaaaaaa lol if you need help with fish stocking I'd start a new thread in freshwater section.
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:54 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
Ok so I should keep testing and wait until the nitrites disappear in to nitrates and then just keep doing water changes or do like one big water change. And also what is the best way to actually do a water change again I'm new to this and never even done any water change since I filled the tank.
__________________

__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:55 PM   #53
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
And do I want to keep the ammonia levels up.
__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 11:37 PM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Ok so I should keep testing and wait until the nitrites disappear in to nitrates and then just keep doing water changes or do like one big water change. And also what is the best way to actually do a water change again I'm new to this and never even done any water change since I filled the tank.
This link shows you what we use to siphon the water out to do water changes. http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...iw=980&bih=588

You'll also want to pick up a clean 5 gallon bucket to drain enough water into to swish your filter into. This will save your bacteria and not kill and wash it away.

Now for dosing it back up just add a little bit to keep your bacteria fed. Eventually (very soon) the nitrite will become nitrates and you'll want to do a 75% water change and then test your water the next day. You should have then 0 ammonia 0 nitrite and below 40 for nitrates. If its not then a 50% water change is what you should need to do. If your water tests good after that you can add your fish. So is start planning on getting fish and figuring out what all you want within the next couple of days. If its going to be a long time before adding fish you'll need to dose very small amounts of ammonia till you add the fish. Just make sure before you add you test the water and do water changes as needed.

You should do 25-50% water changes weekly after adding fish to keep the chemistry correct.

I think that's it or at least all I can think of . Good luck with picking out the fish
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 11:31 AM   #55
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
Ok Andrew so right now I need to wait until nitrite disappears in to nitrate and the do water change to remove the nitrate or get it below 40. Then test next day and levels should be at ammonia 0 nitrite 0 nitrate 40 or below.
__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 11:33 AM   #56
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg5530
Ok Andrew so right now I need to wait until nitrite disappears in to nitrate and the do water change to remove the nitrate or get it below 40. Then test next day and levels should be at ammonia 0 nitrite 0 nitrate 40 or below.
Yep if its going to be awhile before getting fish just add a little of ammonia to keep it between 0-1
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 06:31 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
How's it testing today?
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:54 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
i dosed it up to 2ppm last night before you told me only to dose between 0-1 and this morning ammonia was between .25 and .50. Nitrites are still through th roof and Nitrates are at 40 PPM. I went and bought a sypohen kit and a new bucket to do the water changes with. Now for the Filter you said something about buying a 5 gallon bucket and put the filter in that when doing water changes with water from the aquarium or new water sorry im a bit confused and dont want to have to start all over again. .
__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:28 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
I know its not easy to dose just try and keep as close to .25 .
50 but not over 1 as best as you can. Without the ammonia the nitrites will start going down but trates will start going up.


When you clean the tank for here on out once a week. You'll need to put the old water in the 5 gallon bucket then just shake the filter around in the old water so it doesn't kill the bacteria in it. When the filter looks to be falling apart then you need a new one try adding a new filter a couple days before you change the water. This way you shouldn't have what we call a mini cycle.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:27 AM   #60
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Greg5530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 59
Ok so my fish tank is on the 2nd floor of the house I can bring the hose from out side all the way up to the room it is in but how would you go about adding the water conditioner? Prob stupid question but still had to ask
__________________

__________________
Greg5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.