Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-08-2012, 12:49 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Exclamation New aquarium owner

Hello all!

I'm new to this whole aquarium experience ! My 3 1/2 year old wanted a fish and I was told that bigger tanks were easier to control than little ones! I set up the tank and let it run for a couple days and maintained a temp of 78, I was told to buy tetra safe start to jump start the bacteria! I did just this and 3 fancy guppies and 2 zebra dianos! After just 24 hours 2 guppies have died making my self pretty sad about it, I have read just about every thread I could possibly come accross and nothing is helping! I have a 20 gallon tank water temp is maintained at 78 and ph 7! I read in to the gh and kh but was told that I just needed to worry about the ph! Needless to say since then I have killed 2 more leaving 1 zebra diano to suffer! He is not looking too good! Any help,is much appreciated!

Old 08-08-2012, 01:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

to AA
First thing is do you have a test kit? And what kind? It sounds to me like you should read up on this and fast before you loose all your fish. If you have any questions just ask this is a great site and people love to help or figure out problems. Your ph is not that big of a deal what is are your ammonia and nitrite levels. Hope this helps oh and these came from our article section here on AA if you want more reading material
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/fishin...tep-dark-side/

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/i-just...fish-what-now/

Old 08-08-2012, 01:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular