Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-16-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

New Aquarium owner

Hi everyone,
I am new to all this and love it so far. I just bought a beautiful 75 gallon tank a few weeks ago for a freshwater tropical set up. I am going to get two bala sharks and am up in the air on what else. Anyways I have six tiger barbs in there right now to get the tank cycling and ready for my sharks. As expected 2 have died after the first 2week weeks. I have researched everything and understand how to care for them but still have some questions and was wondering if anyone has any advice on getting started right because I plan on doing this for a lifetime!

Old 08-16-2012, 11:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Send a message via Yahoo to bud29
to the site! you will learn much!

Here is a link to get you started.
Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium - Aquarium Advice

Bala Sharks are schooling so they actually need a bigger tank than a 75

If you want a shark though, you could have a red tail shark or rainbow shark.

As for the barbs, I recommend getting 5 regular, 5 green, and 5 albino tiger barbs. The contrast looks very nice. And for a centerpiece, you could do a convict cichlid!

Old 08-17-2012, 05:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by bud29
And for a centerpiece, you could do a convict cichlid!